Oh, the places you’ll go

On December 15th, I sat in the bleachers at Moody Coliseum and looked into a sea of blue gowns and caps. I scanned the rows one by one until I found the most beautiful girl in the room, patiently sitting between two strangers, smiling from ear to ear. I waited until her name was called and watched her walk across the stage recieving her diploma from Southern Methodist University.

Graduation Wave

On December 15th, I watched my sister graduate. She is the first person to graduate with a degree in Human Rights in all of the South – a degree that is only offered in six schools in the nation. I watched my sister take one step closer to changing the world and reaching her dreams.

Family Graduation

It’s hard to give my big sister advice, because our footsteps lead separate paths and lives. But all that I could say is for her to follow her dreams and to be the happiest person she can be in every situation she is placed in… Sister Sam Sam, “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

Smiling Sami

I love you and I am so proud of you!! Stay beautiful.

One thought on “Oh, the places you’ll go

Leave a Reply

