Don’t go chasing waterfalls

So the other day… Makenna and I were about to head south to Wellington. But before leaving Rotorua, we decided to go for a walk. After chasing waterfalls for just under an hour, we found an absolutely beautiful one.

Chasing Waterfalls

There was a rope hanging pretty high up… And we considered jumping from it. No way. That would be silly. Bad idea.

Oh… But… Wait… I changed my mind. I could do that, and obviously if there is a rope up there people have done it before.

It took a while for me to climb up there and about half way up I decided it was a terrible idea. Except my only way of getting back down was to jump. Oops.

The rope was still too high, that I had to get a broken branch to reach it and pull it towards me.

I stood there… standing on a limb… at the top of a waterfall… thinking of a way not to die. Thankfully, three guys showed up and I realized THIS IS MY CHANCE! If I get hurt, they can save me.

I swung, let go of the rope, closed my eyes, and smashed into the water. It was probably the least graceful thing I’ve ever done. The water was so cold, that it literally took my breath away.

waterfall

I swam to the edge and Makenna helped pull me up… That was stupid.

But, I didn’t die AND now I can cross it off my list of things to do and never have the urge to do that again!

After walking back to the car, we made some hot soup in the parking lot to warm up.

Making Soup

Lesson of the day: don’t go chasing waterfalls (and if you do, don’t jump off of them).

4 thoughts on “Don’t go chasing waterfalls

    • I don’t know what happened… It was stupid. BUT, good news is that’s the only truly “stupid” decision that I’ve made since we’ve been here. And it will never happen again!! I love you Annie:) and I promise I’ll be safe. Xoxox.

  1. It could have been worse. You could have hit a rock…..with your head…..or Makenna could have tried it…..that would have been worse.

Leave a Reply

