Celebrating 75 Years

My Grandpa is turning 75 years old. Where does he want to go? New Orleans.

So, on September 26th, the entire family met up in Nola – cousins, aunts, and uncles!

We stayed at The Roosevlet hotel… It was one of the fanciest places I have ever been. So, Makenna and I obviously fit right in after our day at the gator farm. Wooops.

The first night, everyone got in at different times. We met at a hole in the wall bar across the street. Once almost everyone arrived, we walked down Bourbon Street and sat down at Felix’s Restaurant. A friend of mine recommended it – and it was delicious! Since it was a gator filled day, Kenna and I decided to split some friend alligator… Although it was a little bit odd knowing that I could be eating my new friends parents.

I also tried and surprisingly enjoyed my first oyster! Thanks for sharing Pappa Jack.

At midnight, we headed to a Burlesque show at a classy jazz bar.

This is why I love my family.

The “awkward family moments” didn’t bother us when heals, corsets, and tassels were literally thrown into the picture.

The next morning, we headed to Jackson Square and met up at Cafe du Monde where coffee and beignets were a must. We didn’t let the rain phase us and walked around enjoying the creole atmosphere. We stopped for some Gumbo and Jambalaya for lunch and sat on a crooked balcony, that i’m sure would be a little scary during Mardi Gras.

At 5pm, we put our masks on and cheered my Grandpa (whom I actually call Dedo). He has lived 75 beautiful and accomplished years and still manages to make each day memorable.

We watched a video that my brother put together for him… all of his loved ones wished him the HAPPIEST of BIRTHDAYS and I must say, some were quite clever! We also watched a slideshow of pictures going back to when he was a baby. It was really fun!

We had a delicious dinner at The Bourbon House before we headed to the Jazz Bar – Dedo’s favorite.

We danced to almost every song and truly had the time of our lives… i’m not sure the place will ever be the same again.

After a few hours of jazz, a few of the older folks (but not all) headed to bed.  Meanwhile, the rest of the gang decided to hit up Bourbon St. We had a blast running into disney princesses, catching Mardi Gras beads, and riding the bull.

When it was “5 o’clock in the morning, and conversation [still wasn’t] boring” we decided to call it a night and head back to the hotel before the sun came up!!

The morning came quickly… Makenna and I met my parents for breakfast and throughly enjoyed the buffet! Then piled back into the Tahoe for the last stretch of our adventure… but this time, PJ was included.

One Comment

  1. Hi guys I’m so glad to see what a wonderful time your having, now I know where I want to go for my next big birthday, skydiving maybe!! Jumping off waterfalls cliff NOT A CHANCE. See you back in Texas in dec love dedo

Leave a Reply

