Palm Island

We have had our place in Florida for seventeen years, ever since I was a little girl. I love it here. Granted, I am a little biased. I learned how to ride my bike here and spent nearly ever summer of my childhood here.

It isn’t much. And by that, I mean there isn’t much to do here. It’s a small island where your options in the morning are either to go swimming at the pool, lay out at the beach, or watch movies on the couch. But, honestly, I couldn’t ask for more.

Anyways, for years our family told our relatives to come down from Canada and stay at our place.

My Uncle Scotty finally came down and realized how great of a place it is and bought a condo. I am going to be a little bit selfish here… because yes, I am happy that they get to enjoy all the nothingness that the island gives. But, i’m happy because now I will be able to see them more.

In high school, I would go up to Toronto in the summer and spend some time with them and their four kids. But, now that I am older, it’s a lot more difficult to drop a couple of weeks and visit.

The last two weeks, they were here too. We played cranium, went swimming, and watched the sunsets together. The kids are growing so fast, it blows my mind. I am happy that not only I get to be a part of their life more, but that they got to meet and spend time with Makenna. They have heard so much about her the past couple years, and she has heard about them nearly our entire lives.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

