Nighttime

At night, when I couldn’t be on-site painting, I would paint other things in the studio. Most of the time they were just little things… I had a lot of pieces of scrap canvas and would do simple paintings and play around with colour.

Some nights I would stay in there by myself, listen to music, and just paint. I never realized how important “me” time was. I was able to circle around different ideas in my head and form true opinions on them. I was able to have clear thoughts about crazy things in my life that were sometimes hard to grasp. I was able to pause and look at life in a way that I never have before.

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.” – Helen Keller

Some nights, one or two of my friends from the group would join me. On the last couple of nights, my friend Alex and I stayed up in the studio for hours. We talked about everything – what we believe in… what we remind ourselves of daily… what makes us sad… and what makes us smile. We talked about life and how we got to be the person that we are today. One of the nights, we were in the middle of conversation and noticed the sky started changing colours and was getting ready for sunrise. We laughed, continued talking, and then watched the sun rise above the mountains before walking back to the house for our very short nights sleep.

These are some of my paintings that I did on those nights :] The Umbrella paintings are based off of a watercolour painting I did last year.

 I think that this is going to be one of the things that I miss the most out of my experience in Italy.

2 thoughts on “Nighttime

Leave a Reply

