Hidden Beauty

I finally got myself out of bed early enough to go for a run and I am so happy that I did.

I had no idea where I was going or where I would end up… I just went.

I kept finding myself going down paths with dead ends.

But, I was always pleased and surprised with where they ended.

Sometimes they led straight up to peoples houses or barns…

But most of the time, I ended up in a field or looking at the most beautiful views…

I even found myself standing in front of this San Cresci church – that I later found out was built in the 12th century, but there has been a church there since 400AD.

But, one of the things I loved seeing most… was probably the most looked over.

I came across a fork in the road and had the chance of continuing the well-beaten path I was on or turning left down a path that had been grown over. With a little bit of inspiration coming from Robert Frost and my subconscious screaming “the road not taken” that’s where I found myself running towards. I thought about turning around when I got short of breath, but decided to go a little further.

I ended up reaching a small abandoned house.

I stopped to take a look and noticed a beautiful rose bush growing into the broken window.

I couldn’t help but stop and think… here is just another example in life of something that is completely forgotten and falling apart but yet holds onto so much beauty.

3 Comments

  1. I used more pictures in this one, because I feel like they tell the story a lot more accurately.

    I felt like a little kid, I was running with so much excitement and trying to absorb as much of the beauty as I could!!

  2. Love, love, loooove this!! Your words are inspiring, the pictures are amaing, but your outlook is evn more incredible. I’m so lucky to have you in my life. I can’t wait to see your beautiful face and hear about more of your adventures. But I want you to soak up that Tuscan sun and live in the moment, as I know you will. I love you, babygirl 🙂

Leave a Reply

