Family Cruise

Immediately after finishing my last final exam in May, I headed off to the airport to meet my family in Miami. It was my uncles Tony’s 50th birthday and we were all celebrating by going on a weekend cruise. I was a little skeptical of the idea behind it, mainly because I am not crazy about the wastes that cruises have. However, I am so thankful that I decided to get over that!

Image 

I have a huge family (on both sides) and we don’t get to see each other very often. Nevertheless, nobody would ever be able to guess that because there is something so magically boisterous about us when we get together. Maybe the connotation behind boisterous isn’t so great… but with our family, I think it definitely is!!

This trip accentuated something that I’ve always known… family is important. No matter what, that connection of love that binds everyone together will be the strongest force imaginable. You can make a complete fool of yourself and you don’t have to worry about anything except to have fun and be yourself – because they love YOU more than you know.

After arriving in Miami, we discovered that a few of the boys didn’t quite pack appropriate dinner attire. No worries though, a quick stop at a local thrift store and some black and white photo editing it’s easy to say that we “kept it classy.” 

 Image

There was never a shortage of food or ice cream cones…. And might I add alcoholic beverages. We spent the weekend making new memories and simply making the best with the time we had together. On Saturday, we stopped at an island and “the girls” went for what was going to be a quick swim that turned into few hour snorkeling adventure! It was so much fun, and not only did we see a million little fish, and an old airplane crash; but, we burned some extra calories – which is always a plus! On Sunday, we went to Nassau and instead of doing the touristy things and going to Atlantis, we decided to just walk around. There was a lot of hidden beauty within the houses and people there, that I’m glad I didn’t miss it.

After a weekend of crazy stories, good laughs, and a lot of fun… I couldn’t be happier! Getting to spend the weekend with my family before heading off on my next adventure was the best decision I could’ve made.

“We may not have it all together, but together we have it all.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

